top of page
Search
  • 2001kevinnguyen

My Creative Process In Commercial Photography


During these last few semesters in the "Creative Photography" program at Humber College, I was able to learn a lot about shooting commercial photography. For example, I learned how to use softwares such as Capture One and further improve my images from my knowledge in post production. I also learned how to properly light a subject using the studio equipment like the broncolor lights, softboxes, and scrims.


As previously mentioned in "My Journey In Photography" blog, I struggled with figuring out with what I liked to shoot and my style in photography. However, during these last couple semesters I've slowly figured what I liked to shoot and my style. I've realized I mainly enjoy shooting "minimalist product photography" with some "composite photography" here and there.


One of the shots I am most proud of in my portfolio is this "coke bottle" image that I shot for this beverage assignment.


For the "coke bottle" image, I wanted to try to be more experimental with my lighting and the way I presented the subject. For instance, for the main light I backlit it to capture the highlights of the bottle and sprits of water on the glass. For the background, I lit a black background using a red coloured gel in order to create a vignette. Finally, I captured multiple exposures to merge for the final image.


There are challenges I faced when creating this final image. Mainly it was the post production process and merging the multiple exposed images. I found it difficult to align the photos and manually adjust each exposure through layer masks.


Camera Gear




Feel free to contact me for any questions you may have!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page